View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 2019-12-11 Wed 23:12:35



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 TrackMania TAS 
Author Message
ThingKing
User avatar

Posts: 2429
Post TrackMania TAS
Some folk are experimenting with Tool-Assisted Speedruns on TMUF:

TM TAS FAQ

TAS WR A01 vs riolu WR
TAS WR BayA5 15.45
TAS Island start trick investigated
A07 human vs TAS

_________________
"A snappy saying is no substitute for thinking" - MixD 2009

2019-11-10 Sun 22:45:44
Profile WWW
Illusionist

Posts: 738
Post Re: TrackMania TAS
I was wondering some times ago what would be the best tool to do WR, predict the best lines.
It's crazy to see TAS on Trackmania! I'd be curious to see the number of inputs recorded just for one run.

2019-11-11 Mon 08:06:03
Profile
Darkhawk

Posts: 920
Post Re: TrackMania TAS
only watched the first run but damn.. 7 hours for one run is insane :O

2019-11-11 Mon 09:37:04
Profile
Statistical Boss

Posts: 3781
Post Re: TrackMania TAS
I've been looking at the TAS runs on YouTube as well lately, they're quite interesting. Only two people seem to be actively making them, though.

Even a short map costs so much time to create!

There's some heavy discussions going on about it possibly being used as undetectable cheating. Wonder what the chances really are, though.

2019-11-11 Mon 19:05:48
Profile
Driving God

Posts: 3391
Post Re: TrackMania TAS
In a similar manner, but much easier, it must be possible to cheat by recording your controller input and playing it back in rounds in order to drive your PB every run. You just have to figure out how to time the start. Easy to observe this type of cheating this for a human though, and doesn't help to drive faster times, though that could be done by manipulating the input and creating a TAS.

2019-11-11 Mon 20:15:41
Profile ICQ
ThingKing
User avatar

Posts: 2429
Post Re: TrackMania TAS
Yes, in principle, if you could sync up your input with the game precisely that would work. Just make the start of your recording the retire button, right? But in practise that doesn't sync well enough. Or at least it didn't when I tried it, whenever that was (200* , Win XP? Dual-core?). Anyway I think they're hooking into TM more directly. You only need to read the race time and fake an input. Pretty piss-easy really.

_________________
"A snappy saying is no substitute for thinking" - MixD 2009

2019-11-11 Mon 20:25:00
Profile WWW
Statistical Boss

Posts: 3781
Post Re: TrackMania TAS
Well I know that someone who made a TAS run for a cc-heavier map that he ran the game at 50% or 25% of the speed to make the TAS work. Maybe the TAS input needs a constant framerate or something like that?

2019-11-11 Mon 20:52:15
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.